Deadpool

When I first saw the Deadpool trailer, I knew I had to watch it. Then, I realized it starred Ryan Reynold, and if you have watched any of Ryan Reynold’s previous movies (not that you should), you would know I didn’t expect him to do any good in Deadpool. But boy was  I wrong. A superhero film can only be as good as the actor playing him and, if ever an actor was ever meant to play the role of Deadpool, it would Chris Pratt Ryan Reynolds. Deadpool, the first R-rated superhero movie ever made, broke many box office records ( as the film opened to a record-breaking $135 million at the box office over the weekend), and for good reason too. Deadpool is basically an amazing cross of Kick-Ass and Watchmen that leaves people in awe wanting for more. In this action/thriller/comedy movie, Wade Wilson (Ryan Reynold) is a former Special Forces operative who now works as a mercenary. One day, an evil scientist Ajax tortures, deforms, and transforms him to Deadpool, a lovable character who doesn’t care about what others think. As a result, Wade is imbued with super self-healing abilities, superhuman powers, and horrible scars throughout his whole body. Then, Ajax kidnaps Deadpool’s girlfriend. The rest of the movie is basically just Deadpool stopping at nothing to hunt and kill Ajax to get back his girlfriend, alongside Colossus and Negasonic Teenage Warhead. Perhaps the story is lacking a bit of information on Deadpool but it’s a good introduction to an otherwise unknown and underrated Marvel character. Deadpool doesn’t just simply break the fourth wall, he climbs into the movie theater with you, steals some of your popcorn, then wanders back into the movie. It happens so quickly that it makes you want to check that he hasn’t stolen you wallet simultaneously. Also, make sure you stay until the end credits too.

Here is my rating system. After reviewing every movie, I will rate the movie out of 5 and out of 100 to let you know what I think of the movie.

5(95-100): It’s an absolutely great movie that I would recommend to everyone, and definitely one worth watching.

4(80-94): It’s a good movie that I would still recommend, but it’s just not exactly at the very top.

3(70-79): It’s a movie that’s better than average, but still has its ups and downs.

2(51-69): This movie is definitely under average. This movie is hard to enjoy and the director of this movie probably wasn’t even trying to make a good movie.

1(50 and below): This movie is just complete utter bullshit, so much so that it makes me angry that I even watched it. The director of this movie was just drunk. This is the type of movie that will make you question your ability to pick a good movie. Instead of buying these types of movies, just donate your money to charity and you will be better off anyway.

My rating for Deadpool is 5 and 95.

Overall, Deadpool is the rare movie that succeeds on almost every level, where each character, scene, costume, and joke firing on all cylinders to make a film worth repeated viewings.

*I am new to movie reviewing, and I hope you enjoyed this review. I am open to all constructive criticism, so please leave a comment below. Thanks for reading!*

3 thoughts on “Deadpool

  1. First constructive criticism: Try to set a word count for yourself. This review is far too short and doesn’t tell me about what makes the movie great. I usually aim for 1000 words, not including the rating system explanation. To begin, I think 500 is manageable for you. I’d also suggest making a unique scoring system. If you want to mimic mine, that’s fine but I would suggest using more original phrasing. Make sure you put tags on your film. Without tags, no one will find these reviews. I’ll explain that further. Again, let me know if you have skype or an email that I could send you further instructions/recommendations to.
    Sincerely,
    Tim

    Like

Leave a Reply

