Non-Stop

Before we jump into the review, I want to admit that I haven’t watched the Taken movies yet (WHAT? OMG you should…I know, I know). But something told me I should give this movie a try. After watching this movie’s trailer, I literally watched the movie the day it came out. I don’t want to spoil anything here, but this is a hijacking movie done right. Non-Stop is a spectacular movie about Bill Marks (Neeson), a troubled U.S. Air Marshal. On a one-way flight from US to UK, he receives a message from someone anonymous, telling Bill that someone will die everyone 20 minutes, unless $150 million is transferred to an account. This film’s biggest strength is the suspense. There are a lot of good twists and turns that kept me eager to find out what’s going to happen out throughout the movie. As the audience, we are always guessing who is the one sending the messages, and this movie does a great job of keeping us on the edge of our seats. At the same time, the biggest weakness in the movie is the villain. I don’t want to spoil anything, but the reveal is a blow. After the villain was revealed,  I thought to myself: “Really? It was you?”. I just thought that maybe the director could make the villain at least somewhat believable. But that was just my opinion.

** SPOLIER ALERT! THE FOLLOWING CONTAINS SPOILERS!**

Another problem with the movie is the things that don’t make sense. For example, how is it possible to upload a Youtube Video in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean without it taking hours? Another example is that it’s completely downright impossible for an international flight to be half empty, so that you can conveniently evacuate the business class and have enough room in the economy class.

Here is my rating system. After reviewing every movie, I will rate the movie out of 5 and out of 100 to let you know what I think of the movie.

5(95-100): It’s an absolutely great movie that I would recommend to everyone, and definitely one worth watching.

4(80-94): It’s a good movie that I would still recommend, but it’s just not exactly at the very top.

3(70-79): It’s a movie that’s better than average, but still has its ups and downs.

2(51-69): This movie is definitely under average. This movie is hard to enjoy and the director of this movie probably wasn’t even trying to make a good movie.

1(50 and below): This movie is just complete utter bullshit, so much so that it makes me angry that I even watched it. The director of this movie was just drunk. This is the type of movie that will make you question your ability to pick a good movie. Instead of buying these types of movies, just donate your money to charity and you will be better off anyway.

My rating for Non-Stop is 4 and 82.

Non-Stop is a great suspense action movie with good performances all around. It has a weak villain reveal and plausibility, however that doesn’t influence my enjoyment in the movie. There’s nothing earth shattering about the movie but it’s still a great film.

*I am new to movie reviewing, and I hope you enjoyed this review. I am open to all constructive criticism, so please leave a comment below. Thanks for reading!*

Leave a Reply

