Central Intelligence

Whenever I hear the phrase “action comedy”about a movie, I automatically think about cliches and boring overused action sequences. But Central Intelligence was different. This film had great characters (and chemistry between actors), and hilarious comedy. But the downside was that the story itself was overused and just dumb. Not to mention the plot development. The story revolves around a reunion between a CIA Agent, Bob Stone (Dwayne Johnson), and an accountant, Calvin Joyner (Kevin Hart), when Stone needs Joyner’s calculating abilities (from being an accountant) to find a compromised US satellite system and eliminate their enemies. Central Intelligence is also the rare film in which Kevin Hart is assigned to play the role of straight man with a straight face (that’s right, no laughing) in a comedy. Putting aside a lot of Central Intelligence’s shortcomings, the movie is saved by Dwayne Johnson’s amazing performance. Johnson plays a man who has insecurities about himself with his morbid obesity and his bullying experience from high school. There are moments in the movie where his vulnerability shows, but makes everything turn out okay. Also, all the hilarious scenes are hilarious mainly because of him. Sure, Hart helps with the humor and develops chemistry with Johnson, but “The Rock” steals the show.

***SPOILER ALERT: THE FOLLOWING CONTAINS SPOILERS***

I, for one, thought it was really cool how throughout the whole film, you wonder if Dwayne Johnson’s character is a good guy or the villain. The movie makes makes you pay extra attention to the story as the twists throughout were simple and believable. Even though this wasn’t an action nor a comedic aspect of the story, it certainly helped. One last thing, I loved how Aaron Paul was the villain since I watch Breaking Bad and I appreciate his role in the series. He also looks and acts like a villain to, making it far more believable as compared to if Johnson was the villain. Like I have said before, this movie has some problems, mainly the predictability of the story and the all those cliched action sequences that have no purpose or meaning to the story. But there was one major cliche what stood out to me that I will talk about. Stone (Johnson) tells Joyner (Hart) that his former partner (Paul) was killed in action. The cliche is the fact that his partner didn’t really die dead and he turns out to be the villain in the climax. I predicted that from the very second Aaron Paul’s character was introduced because he looks and acts like a villain to, making it far more believable as compared to if Johnson was the villain. Also, his role in Breaking Bad, one of my favorite TV series, is bad-ass.

Here is my rating system. After reviewing every movie, I will rate the movie out of 5 and out of 100 to let you know what I think of the movie.

5(95-100): It’s an absolutely great movie that I would recommend to everyone, and definitely one worth watching.

4(80-94): It’s a good movie that I would still recommend, but it’s just not exactly at the very top.

3(70-79): It’s a movie that’s better than average, but still has its ups and downs.

2(51-69): This movie is definitely under average. This movie is hard to enjoy and the director of this movie probably wasn’t even trying to make a good movie.

1(50 and below): This movie is just complete utter bullshit, so much so that it makes me angry that I even watched it. The director of this movie was just drunk. This is the type of movie that will make you question your ability to pick a good movie. Instead of buying these types of movies, just donate your money to charity and you will be better off anyway.

My rating for Central Intelligence is 3 and 75.

Overall, this movie gets a positive review from me because despite all of the cons Central Intelligence has, Dwayne Johnson and the cast hit the bottom line for me: To make me laugh. If the action was consistently cool or funny that this movie would be great.

*I am new to movie reviewing, and I hope you enjoyed this review. I am open to all constructive criticism, so please leave a comment below. Thanks for reading!*

Leave a Reply

