Spy (2015)

I watched SPY on a airplane a few months ago (this movie is the perfect movie to watch on an airplane) but I never got a chance to write a review on it. After re-watching this a few days ago, I finally decided to review it.

SPY is a movie about a spy (no shit). Susan Cooper, (Melissa McCarthy), is a CIA agent desk-jockey who remotely monitors surveillance information from a bat infested basement at the CIA headquarters for field agent Bradley Fine (Jude Law), who is a top of the class spy. One day, on a mission to find a nuclear bomb, Bradley Fine is seen killed and the enemy informs the CIA that they know every spy the CIA has. So, Susan volunteers to bring down the terrorist as she has never been on the field and not is likely to be seen. This movie was excellent, boasting laugh-out-loud at every twist and turn. Even though this movie was well made and thoroughly enjoyable, it isn’t meant for kids, and is Rated R (then why am I watching it?) Overall, the cast did a great job at acting their parts, especially McCarthy’s bad-mouthed attitude and Jason Statham’s amazing performance playing the dimwitted Rick Ford who was just hilarious. After watching this movie’s trailer, I guessed that any action comedy film in the spy genre is big money, if of course the movie is done right.  Spy is done right, with a good blend of verbal and visual gags, a plot that can hold together when it needs to and plenty of fun, discussable characters.

Here is one of my favorite McCarthy-Statham quotes:

Rick Ford: You really think you’re ready for the field? I once used defibrillators on myself. I put shards of glass in my f*ckin’ eye. I’ve jumped from a high-rise building using only a raincoat as a parachute and broke both legs upon landing; I still had to pretend I was in a f*cking Cirque du Soleil show! I’ve swallowed enough microchips and shit them back out again to make a computer. This arm has been ripped off completely and re-attached with *this* f*ckin’ arm.

Susan Cooper: I don’t know that that’s possible… I mean medically…

Rick Ford: During the threat of an assassination attempt, I appeared convincingly in front of congress as Barack Obama.

Susan Cooper: In black-face? That’s not appropriate.

Rick Ford: I watched the woman I love get tossed from a plane and hit by another plane mid-air. I drove a car off a freeway on top of a train while it was on fire. Not the car, *I* was on fire.

Susan Cooper: Jesus, you’re intense.

My favorite part about this movie is that even though it’s a comedy movie, it still has a great plot, and is very much a “spy” movie, not just some film with Paul Blart: Mall Cop jokes (thank god).

Here is my rating system. After reviewing every movie, I will rate the movie out of 5 and out of 100 to let you know what I think of the movie.

5(95-100): It’s an absolutely great movie that I would recommend to everyone, and definitely one worth watching.

4(80-94): It’s a good movie that I would still recommend, but it’s just not exactly at the very top.

3(70-79): It’s a movie that’s better than average, but still has its ups and downs.

2(51-69): This movie is definitely under average. This movie is hard to enjoy and the director of this movie probably wasn’t even trying to make a good movie.

1(50 and below): This movie is just complete utter bullshit, so much so that it makes me angry that I even watched it. The director of this movie was just drunk. This is the type of movie that will make you question your ability to pick a good movie. Instead of buying these types of movies, just donate your money to charity and you will be better off anyway.

My rating for SPY (2016) is 4 and 80.

Spy is fun, entertaining, funny, and well worth the money. I literally laughed so hard while watching this movie for the first time that I had water in my mouth and almost choked. Yet again, this movie is really inappropriate for kids.

*I am new to movie reviewing, and I hope you enjoyed this review. I am open to all constructive criticism, so please leave a comment below. Thanks for reading!*

Leave a Reply

