Ride Along 2

I have watched the first Ride Along before, and even though I didn’t think it was a “good movie”, it definitely made me laugh, so I was eager to watch Ride Along 2. Unfortunately, I was set up for disappointment.

Kevin Hart plays a newly certified cop, Ben Barber, who wants to prove to everyone, including himself, that he is a good at being a police officer. Ice Cube plays as an experienced police officer, James Payton, and is Ben’s partner. Together, they try to stop a shipment of drugs entering Miami while hunting down the drug lords who are held responsible. This is a pretty simple setup. But, Ride Along 2 is full of cliches in the buddy-police genre with one-sided characters and a very lousy script that tries, but fails, to be funny. Every cliche you’d expect from Ride Along 2 happens. Here are some of the cliches (WARNING SPOILER ALERT):

  1. All the bullets always miss the main character but every bullet fired by the main character hits the target.
  2. The leader of the entire police division fires the adorable pair of cops from their jobs for accomplishing something dumb.
  3. The crook will be running away from the police officers into different backyards and the first road the crook runs into will have the officers’ police car right there.

And I didn’t even mention cliches from the action sequences because there were too many.

Also the script doesn’t have many funny and interesting dialogue. But Kevin Hart tries very hard to be funny and I give him props for that. On the other hand, Ice Cube can be very funny (like he was in 21 and 22 Jump Street) but he isn’t given any real opportunity to be himself in the script. The only real opportunity he has to be funny is when he insults Kevin Kart for his stupid actions.

Here is my rating system. After reviewing every movie, I will rate the movie out of 5 and out of 100 to let you know what I think of the movie.

5(95-100): It’s an absolutely great movie that I would recommend to everyone, and definitely one worth watching.

4(80-94): It’s a good movie that I would still recommend, but it’s just not exactly at the very top.

3(70-79): It’s a movie that’s better than average, but still has its ups and downs.

2(51-69): This movie is definitely under average. This movie is hard to enjoy and the director of this movie probably wasn’t even trying to make a good movie.

1(50 and below): This movie is just complete utter bullshit, so much so that it makes me angry that I even watched it. The director of this movie was just drunk. This is the type of movie that will make you question your ability to pick a good movie. Instead of buying these types of movies, just donate your money to charity and you will be better off anyway.

My rating for Ride Along 2 is 2 and 57.

If you are into car chases and comedy from a buddy-cop film this film is for you, but DON’T expect the unexpected. For me, this film wasn’t very bad, or very good, but it’s more bad than good.

*I am new to movie reviewing, and I hope you enjoyed this review. I am open to all constructive criticism, so please leave a comment below. Thanks for reading!*

Leave a Reply

