Minority Report

Minority Report was recommended to me by my uncle (thanks) and I didn’t fully understand the movie at first, but I sure am thankful I watched it.

In Minority Report, it’s 2o54 and a “precrime” unit uses a psychic technology to stop murders before they are committed. One day, John Anderton (Tom Cruise), the chief of the precrime unit, is himself accused of killing a man he doesn’t even know (in the future). So, him being Tom Cruise, he goes on the run, trying to clear his name and find out about the truth. The film revolves around a glitch in the “visions” of the Precogs, and although we learned that the Precogs are never wrong, sometimes they disagree. But of course, the catch is that if you can outsmart the whole Precog system, you can commit crimes without being caught.

This movie provides not only a very interesting “whodunit” hunter turned hunted thriller, but it also presents a story about human emotion . Speaking about human emotion, the cast did a really good job acting their characters in this film, which is all thanks to Steven Speilberg for knowing which great actors to cast.

The usual star, Tom Cruise, excelled at playing John Anderton because he can show a lot of emotion but also maintain a high level of authority. Colin Farrell also did a great job at playing an arrogant inspector. The third actor that is also worth mentioning is Samantha Morton who played the Agatha the female Precog. She gave a fantastic performance showing off all her emotion as a Precog, which is clearly shown in the film.

Another thing I loved about the film were the action sequences that were cleverly planned out by Speilberg, but I will avoid talking about those in detail so I don’t spoil it. Yet despite its pros, it still has its cons. I’m specifically talking about its plot holes (I know, I know, it’s a sci-fi, but I still want to point them out).

*WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD*

Anderton is on the run from the Precrime unit, so it makes sense to deny his access to the Precrime unit. But later on in the film, he can still access private areas where one couldn’t access using his dug out eyes, which his ex-wife also uses to go into the prison. Another big plot hole I noticed was when Anderton takes Agatha with him and eventually they escape because of Agatha’s future visions. Agatha can see future deaths (explained early on in the movie), but she can’t she everything in the future, so it doesn’t make sense that she can tell Anderton exactly what to do so that they can avoid being caught by the precrime unit.

Here is my rating system. After reviewing every movie, I will rate the movie out of 5 and out of 100 to let you know what I think of the movie.

5(95-100): It’s an absolutely great movie that I would recommend to everyone, and definitely one worth watching.

4(80-94): It’s a good movie that I would still recommend, but it’s just not exactly at the very top.

3(70-79): It’s a movie that’s better than average, but still has its ups and downs.

2(51-69): This movie is definitely under average. This movie is hard to enjoy and the director of this movie probably wasn’t even trying to make a good movie.

1(50 and below): This movie is just complete utter bullshit, so much so that it makes me angry that I even watched it. The director of this movie was just drunk. This is the type of movie that will make you question your ability to pick a good movie. Instead of buying these types of movies, just donate your money to charity and you will be better off anyway.

My rating for Minority Report is 4 and 87.

All in all, Minority Report is a successful sci-fi, requires some thinking as some parts can be confusing, but very entertaining. Recommended for all the sci-fi lovers out there.

*I hope you enjoyed reading this review as much as I did writing it. Thanks for reading!*

One thought on “Minority Report

Leave a Reply

